Creativity breeds sanity

As a child I loved to draw, I loved anything that took me into myself, away from ‘reality’. My own reality inside my mind was a much brighter, softer place for me. One I could ‘make believe’ and not have to feel others pain and suffering.

I forgot all about my love for this act, I got older, I became engulfed by the world around me, the one outside of me. I discovered drink, drugs, smoking, sex and bitterness. My heart became heavy over the years, I blamed everyone around me and became a victim in my own mind. This continued for decades.

The beginning of 2020 I really hit rock bottom, bad decision after bad decision had left me with a life I couldn’t relate to. Left me feeling suicidal and hopeless.

Then after a string of bad situations that ultimately left me in deep depression, alienating pretty much everyone and hurting everyone, I had an epiphany. I chose to get sober, I chose life.

Gradually I began to remember all the things that I felt as a child, then as a stroke of luck the memory box my mum had given me sparked a memory of how I loved to draw. Over the last year it has saved my life on more than one occasion and it’s something I underestimated but something I’ll always do.

I highly recommend finding that thing that takes you out of reality. Create something, anything. The pride you feel from making something from scratch is unlike anything you can buy. It’s soul food.

Leave a comment